Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Rift for Beginners: How to Change Souls

Resetting Souls to Allow Swapping
When you reach level 13 you can do quests in the major cities to unlock additional souls beyond your starting three. This allows you to make all new soul combinations.

In addition to gaining new souls you can also purchase new "Roles". Roles allow you to store more than one Soul Tree. This guide shows how to change the Souls in any of your Roles.

How to Change a Soul
Select Soul to Swap (Must Have 0 Points Spent)
Choose New Soul from List

  • Open your Soul Tree by pressing "N" (or press the icon on your game menu that looks like a tree).
  •  Left-Click on the icon for the Soul (with 0 soul points spent) you want to change. 
  • Select the soul you would like to swap in. (If you are level 13 and above and have done one or more quests to gain additional Souls the available souls will be shown in the "Souls (Equip)" list.)
  • That's it.

When Can You Swap a Soul?  
You can change a Soul in a Role as long as there are zero (0) Soul Points spent in that Soul in your Soul Tree. This means you can swap out less used souls as often as you want.

Many times we have a third soul that we splash into our build simply to get the first few abilities from it. If this is the case for you then you can swap that soul as often as you want.

If you want to swap a soul out of or into a role and you have spend points in it simply head to a trainer and reset the soul points of the role you'd like to swap a soul in.

Swapping souls is quick and easy once you get the hang of it. Also swapping zero (0) point tertiary souls also gives you a bit of flexibility while in the field.

What tips and tricks have you uncovered while playing Rift? Let us know in the comments.